Pioneers of lithium-ion battery win 2019 Nobel chemistry prize

The Economic Times | Oct 9, 2019 at 3:32 PM
  • Scientists John Goodenough, Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino won the 2019 Nobel Prize for Chemistry on Wednesday for the development of lithium-ion batteries, an important technology in enabling the world to move away from fossil fuels.
  • Whittingham developed the first functional lithium battery in the early 1970s.
  • The awards for literature, peace and economics will be announced in the next few days.
More sources