Towards a rechargeable world

The Hindu | Oct 12, 2019 at 6:32 PM
  • The story so far: The 2019 Nobel Prize for Chemistry was awarded to John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino for working towards the development of practical lithium-ion batteries.
  • Yoshino, who was working at Asahi Kasei Corporation, used Goodenough’s lithium-cobalt design as a working template and tried various carbon-based materials as the anode.
  • When he turned on the battery, the electrons and lithium ions flowed towards the cobalt oxide in the cathode.