EU hits 10 countries with ‘voucher-gate’ legal action

Euractiv | Jul 3, 2020 at 9:15 AM
  • The European Commission announced on Thursday (2 July) that it would launch an infringement procedure against ten EU member states that are in breach of the bloc’s passenger rights rules.
  • National legislation in Croatia, the Czech Republic, Cyprus, Greece, France, Italy, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal and Slovakia still violates EU rules.
  • Twelve countries – Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Greece, Ireland, Latvia, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland and Portugal – all urged the Commission to suspend the rights regulation so that embattled companies could offer vouchers as the main form of refund.